Florida bans sale of e-cigarettes to minors, starting July 1
People under age 18 in Florida will be banned from buying electronic cigarettes under a bill that Republican Governor Rick Scott signed into law on Friday.
It was already illegal for minors to buy tobacco cigarettes, cigars or pipe tobacco. The new law, which took effect on July 1, prohibits the sale to minors of any "nicotine dispensing device," including the electronic smoking devices, known as e-cigarettes.
For first-time offenders, the penalty for puffing is a $25 civil fine, or 16 hours of community service. Anyone under the age of 18 who is caught three times risks losing a driver's license.
The law makes it a misdemeanor to sell vapor smoking devices to minors and requires stores to post signs warning of the ban.
Florida Electronic Cigarette Regulation - On July 1, 2014, SB 224 went into effect as the first step forward for state level regulation of electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes) in Florida.